My Hugo voting – Part I (Short Stories and Novelettes)

I’ve started voting on the Hugos. The first two categories that I voted on are the short story and novelette categories. While deciding on the short story rankings was very difficult I felt it was easier in the novelette category. Here’s how I voted:

The Novelette Category

Deciding my vote in this category was relatively easy: My favorite is Mary Robinette Kowal‘s The Lady Astronaut of Mars (my review). I loved it. Second place is The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling by Ted Chiang (my review). If I could hand out two second places, I’d let it tie with Aliette de Bodard‘s The Waiting Stars (my review), but this is – unfortunately – not possible. So I decided to rank Ted Chiang‘s story higher. For me, it was more thought provoking than Aliette de Bodard‘s story and I have to rank them somehow. I didn’t like Brad Torgersen‘s The Exchange Officers (my review), but that’s my personal taste. I don’t think that it is badly written, so I am not ranking it below “No award”. Vox Day‘s story Opera Vita Aeterna (my review) is an altogether different matter, though. I didn’t like it and it is a bad story. It’s badly written, badly plotted and clichéd. I feel that his story does not deserve to win a Hugo Award. So it goes where I think it belongs: below “No award”.

  1. The Lady Astronaut of MarsMary Robinette Kowal
  2. The Truth of Fact, the Truth of FeelingTed Chiang
  3. The Waiting StarsAliette de Bodard
  4. The Exchange OfficersBrad Torgersen
  5. No award
  6. Opera Vita AeternaVox Day

Edit: Knowing more about how the voting system works now (24th June) than when I wrote this post, I am adjusting my ballot as follows:

  1. The Lady Astronaut of MarsMary Robinette Kowal
  2. The Truth of Fact, the Truth of FeelingTed Chiang
  3. The Waiting StarsAliette de Bodard
  4. No award
  5. The Exchange OfficersBrad Torgersen

The Short Story Category

For me, this is the most difficult fiction category. I loved all nominated short stories. They are all very, very different, so different from one another that I have no idea how to fairly measure their qualities. I believe, each of the nominated stories would make a worthy winner. This is how I rank them. (No explanation provided. I am deciding on very fine points.)

  1. Selkie Stories Are for LosersSofia Samatar (my review)
  2. The Water That Falls on You from NowhereJohn Chu (my review)
  3. If You Were a Dinosaur, My LoveRachel Swirsky (my reaction)
  4. The Ink Readers of Doi SaketThomas Olde Heuvelt (my review)
  5. No award

So those are the first two categories I could decide on. The short stories were very hard to rank, and I’d be happy with every possible winner. Have you made up your mind in any of those categories? Go ahead and post links to articles about your short story and novelette voting! I am curious to see how you rank these stories.

2 thoughts on “My Hugo voting – Part I (Short Stories and Novelettes)

Your thoughts.

